When you communicate primarily through your phone, it’s difficult to shake the sneaking paranoia that comes with being in such close contact when you feel you’re being ignored.
Blocking someone on WhatsApp, while brutal, is a pretty straightforward way to ensure they can’t contact you. There’s also a lot of conflicting information floating around the internet on how to tell whether someone’s blocked you or not. Read on for a no-nonsense guide to working out if you’ve been excommunicated, and, crucially, how it appears within the app.
What it looks like when you’re not blocked
A regular conversation displays your contact’s name and profile picture. I can also see that Anna’s online.
How it appears once you have been blocked
Now Anna has blocked me, I can’t see whether she is online, or when she was last seen. This is complicated slightly by the fact you can adjust whether your contacts can see your ‘last seen’ movements under settings, but only blocking someone can hide the fact they’re online at that very moment. Similarly, I can no longer see her status.
WhatsApp states that once someone has blocked you, you won’t see any updates to the person’s profile picture. The reality is slightly more dramatic than that – you can’t see the profile picture at all.
If I try to message Anna whilst I’m blocked, the message will display a single tick (message sent). So long as I am still blocked, Anna will never receive the message, and the icon won’t change to two ticks (message received). If your message is marked with two ticks, you haven’t been blocked.
I can still make a WhatsApp voice call to Anna while I’m blocked, but it will just continue to ring out. The call never actually reaches Anna’s phone, it just gives the impression it does.
Even once Anna has unblocked me, the message I sent to her earlier remains undelivered.
- Can’t see when they were last online/are online…
- Can’t see a profile picture at all (not the grey standard outline)…
- Send messages but they remain on a single tick…
… you’ve been blocked. Sorry.