The complicated world of Facebook is indeed very complicated.
Have I offended Aunt Mary by not liking her picture of her new dog? How many pictures of a new baby can someone post before you’re allowed to unfollow them?
Well as with all delicate social interactions knowledge is power.
And if you’re not quite sure why someone might not be responding to you, it might be because they haven’t even seen your message.
Websites like Facebook and Twitter allow you to block (or “mute”) other users and stop them from seeing what you post. You can also stop their tweets or messages from showing up in your timeline.
Perhaps its to do with being offended, the end of a relationship or you’re just sick of being pestered – there are several different reasons why you might want to give someone the digital cold shoulder.
If you’re on the receiving end of a block – then it’s important to respect the decision and not keep trying to contact the person.
How to tell if you’ve been blocked on Facebook
When you’re blocked you won’t be able to view that person’s profile, send them a message or comment on their timeline. You also won’t be able to see any of their comments anywhere else on the site – such as on a mutual friend’s profile.
If you run a search for that person, they won’t appear in the results box – giving you the first clue that you might have been blocked.
One way of confirming is to look at the friend list of a mutual connection. If they’re still there it will confirm that you’ve been blocked rather than the person has deleted their account. You can also check back through Facebook’s companion app, Messenger, to see if they’ve blacklisted you from their Facebook friend list.
How to tell if you’ve been muted on Twitter
There’s a quick trick to seeing if someone’s sick of your rampant tweeting and it involves using the TweetDeck web app.
Open the application and set up a new “Home” column for the person you suspect has muted you. If you don’t appear in there then chances are that you’ve been muted. Fire off a quick tweet for confirmation.
It works because the “Home” column lets you see Twitter as if you were looking through that person’s account – and it may or may not include you.
What to do if you’ve been blocked or muted
If someone has decided to drop you the best thing to do is to move on and concentrate on other relationships.
The beauty of muting or blocking someone is that you’re not actually unfriending them or removing them completely. There’s always the option to re-engage later on down the line.
So don’t sweat it and move on with your life.